Scholarly Editions of Music
and Essays in Musicology
online and on demand

© Copyright Società Editrice di Musicologia
Sede legale: Lgt. Portuense 150 - 00153 Roma
C.F. 97701420586
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Antonio Bazzini
Quartetto per archi n. 1 in do maggiore
edited by Marina Vaccarini

(Instrumental Music, 21)

29,7 x 21 cm; XX, 64 pp.
Intro and Apparatus in Italian and English

Antonio Bazzini (Brescia 1818 - Milan 1897), was a violin virtuoso in his early career, then a composer, especially of chamber and symphonic music, who became one of the most influential late 19th-century Italian musicians. The Quartet in C Major is the first in a series of six string quartets Bazzini wrote in less than three decades. It was awarded the first prize at the first edition of the competition the recently born Società del Quartetto, Milan, launched in 1864. It was premièred in Milan on May 14, 1865 and well received by critics. Its score was issued by Ricordi, on behalf of the Società del Quartetto, by late 1864 – early 1865. Some two decades later, parts were printed by Lucca. This edition, later dated back to 1866 in error, shows minor discrepancies from the original, which therefore has been chosen as reference for this scholarly edition.

Marina Vaccarini was born in Milan, where she studied at the Giuseppe Verdi Conservatory and at the Università Statale. Her work is focused on composers and aspects of 18th- to 20th-century Italian music. She has published books and essays for LIM, Brepols, BMG Ricordi, Ibis, Skira, Nuove Edizioni, Baldini & Castoldi, Olschki, Curci, LED Edizioni Universitarie, Guerini, Die Schachtel, and edited four out of Giovanni Battista Sammartini’s eight Lent Cantatas for the Fondazione Arcadia, Milan. She works with the Associazione culturale NoMus, Centro Studi e Ricerche sulla Musica Moderna e Contemporanea, as a book editor and author of concert notes in major Milan museums (Museo del Novecento, Casa-Museo Boschi Di Stefano). A former member of the board of statutory auditors of the Società Italiana di Musicologia for six years, she is currently teaching Music History at the Luca Marenzio Conservatory, Brescia, Darfo Boario Terme branch.

Bazzini - cover

 get the edition


Digital Edition - score (Support SEdM)
ISMN: 979-0-705061-83-3

Digital Edition - score and parts (Support SEdM)
ISMN: 979-0-705061-84-0

Paper Edition (on demand: 
ISMN: 979-0-705061-82-6
Price: 25€