Scholarly Editions of Music
and Essays in Musicology
online and on demand

© Copyright Società Editrice di Musicologia
Sede legale: Lgt. Portuense 150 - 00153 Roma
C.F. 97701420586
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Giulio Ricordi
Quartetto per archi in sol maggiore
edited by Ivano Bettin

(Musica strumentale, 22)

29,7 x 21 cm; XXXVI, 90 pp.
Intro and Apparatus in Italian and English

A music publisher, composer, and journalist, Giulio Ricordi was a major figure in the musical life of 1860s unified Italy. He was close to the Milanese Scapigliatura movement and was active in the dissemination of classic and romantic chamber music, both as a founding member of the Società del Quartetto di Milano and as a composer. He wrote hundreds of pieces, mostly for piano, some issued as “Jules Burgmein”. His String Quartet in G major was performed in 1864 at a competition promoted by Abramo Basevi in Florence and was awarded second prize. It is cast in the usual four movements and shows his full command of the classic-romantic language, alongside a search for an Italian cantabile style. 

Ivano Bettin graduated in 2004 in Modern Literature at the Milan University, where he then got his Ph.D. in History and Criticism of Art and Environment Heritage (Music area). An active researcher, mainly on 17th- to 19th-century Italian music, he produced scholarly editions such as Vivaldi’s La Dorilla and Pergolesi’s Il Flaminio, both for Ricordi, wrote essays issued by Lim, Led, Ets, SEdM, Pàtron, Centro Studi Antoniani, and others, as well as encyclopedia entries for the Dizionario biografico degli italiani and Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart. A professional journalist, he is also editor in the Classical Music Division of Hal Leonard Europe.

Bettin cover

 get the edition


Digital Edition (Support SEdM)
ISMN: 979-0-705061-95-6

Paper Edition (on demand: 
ISMN: 979-0-705061-96-3
Price: 30€