Scholarly Editions of Music
and Essays in Musicology
online and on demand

© Copyright Società Editrice di Musicologia
Sede legale: Lgt. Portuense 150 - 00153 Roma
C.F. 97701420586
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Franchino Gaffurio
edited by Cristina Cassia

(Musica mensurale, 2)

29,7 x 21 cm; XXIV, 88 pp.
Intro and Apparatus in Italian and English

Franchino Gaffurio (1451-1522) was a major figure of Italian music during the Renaissance. His treatises have received widespread attention, his compositions hardly any. This edition of his Magnificats forms Volume II of La musica sacra di Franchino Gaffurio (Musica mensurale series), a product of the Ex CATheDRA (Excellent Composers And Theorists During the Renaissance Age) research project by the Società Italiana di Musicologia. It documents a significant aspect of Gaffurio’s opus and allows 15th-century vocal music practitioners to perform and hear a most interesting repertoire.

Cristina Cassia graduated in Classic Literature (2002) and Musicology (2011) at the Milan and Pavia/Cremona Universities and in piano and organ at the Mantua and Venice Conservatories. In 2017 she obtained her Ph.D. in co-tutorship between the Université Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium) and the Université François-Rabelais, Tours (France). She carried out musicological research at the Centre d’Études Supérieures de la Renaissance, Tours (2010-2013), where she has been an associate researcher since 2017. In 2018-2020 she took part in the Polifonia Sforzesca project at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, Basel (Switzerland). She is currently Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow (2021-2023) at the University of Padua for a project called Pietro Bembo’s soundscape: a musical tour in the early modern Italian peninsula.

SEdM Gaffurio - 2. Magnificat - cover

get the edition


Digital Edition (Support SEdM)
ISMN: 979-0-705061-99-4

Paper Edition (on demand: 
ISMN: 979-0-705061-98-7
Price: 30€