Scholarly Editions of Music
and Essays in Musicology
online and on demand

© Copyright Società Editrice di Musicologia
Sede legale: Lgt. Portuense 150 - 00153 Roma
C.F. 97701420586
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Paolo Benedetto Bellinzani
Dodici cantate per soprano e basso continuo
edited by Giovanni Bianco

(Vocal Chamber Music, 10)

XXXVIII, 106 p.; 29,7 x 21 cm
Intro and Apparatus in Italian and English

Paolo Benedetto Bellinzani (1682-1757) was an important early 18th-century composer in the border territories of the Papal States. He was the censor of the Accademici Risorti, Ferrara (1718), was awarded the title of Accademico Filarmonico in Bologna (1727) and was chapel master in such major centers as Santa Maria Annunziata cathedral, Udine (1715-1721), the Pesaro cathedral (1724-1727) and Urbino’s famous Metropolitana (1730-1733). Some of his sacred works enjoyed widespread circulation and stayed in the repertoire of famous musical chapels for years. The manuscript of the Cantate a voce sola da camera is unique in his opus. It is his only autograph secular score—a collection of twelve cantatas that have come to us from a single source, now in Paris.

Giovanni Bianco holds a 2nd Level's Degree in Historical, critical, and analytical music disciplines from the Giuseppe Martucci Conservatory, Salerno. A collaborator of the Fondazione Rossini, Pesaro, he focused his research work on Bellinzani, taking part in a project called Paolo Benedetto Bellinzani, discovery and resurgence of 18th-century master composers. He has published essays on the 18th-century chamber cantata and is currently working on the source catalog of the Clori – Archivio della cantata da camera project.

SEdM Bellinzani - cover

get the edition


Digital Edtion (Support SEdM
ISMN: 979-0-705061-88-8

Paper Edition (on demand:
ISMN: 979-0-705061-87-1
Price: 30€